Pages

Sunday, May 20, 2012

Niagara Falls!


I apologize for not blogging these past few days. I barely had any internet or phone signal. Whoohoo!!
I suppose I'd better blog about this trip before I forget everything or run out of time. Which, btw, time if precious, if you hadn't grasped that concept yet. 

May 14
We embarked on the long 8 hour drive up to Niagara Falls – the Canadian side.
Keri-fail of the day: needing to pee 15 mins after we left. And yes, I did, indeed, pee before I left the house. Twice, in fact.
Fun fact of the day: I will always tell you if I need to pee. I’m very vocal about it for some reason and never realized it until someone pointed that out.
Anyway, I made daddy stop about an hour into the trip because I had to go so bad. Mom made the observation that we had both eaten a huge bowl of burbur chach (go look it up if you’re thoroughly confused as to what in the world that is) and that was why we had to pee so badly.
Ok, enough about peeing.
Mom is playing some cute song on her iPad and I asked her where she got it. Apparently I gave it to her. Oops. Shrug.
Anyway. We made it safely across the border and to our hotel which has a fantastic view of both the falls. We went down to investigate closer and walked along the falls. It’s so impressive, massive, and you can hear and feel how powerful it is! Just shows how great our God is!!


Pretty sure I have a picture just like this when I was like...6 or 7...




May 15
After traveling with my dad all these years he still hasn’t figured out that people on vacation like to relax every now and again. 
We decided at the last minute to join a tour, which was probably a good idea since we hadn’t a clue where we were going. We went to look over the falls (and by over, I really mean next to it), behind the falls, and in front of the falls. The bus took us all over the place and our tour guy went rapid fire with all the facts…don’t ask me to repeat any of them though. We stopped off at the butterfly conservatory where I went picture happy – so many butterflies!! We ventured onto the Maid of the Mist, the boat that took us right next to the falls…so much water…and it was only mist. Haha.

Ok. So I didn't call this blog "Adventure Time with Keri" on a whim. It is a KNOWN fact that anytime spent with me is an adventure. Just ask Shauna or Niki. We've been through a lot. Haha. 
So, in true Keri-Adventure style, something exciting happened that night. 
We were awakened at around 12:45am by a loud beeping sound and none of us could figure out where it was coming from. There were no lights flashing. Nothing. Then the beeping sounds started alternating with siren sounds and we realized it was the fire alarm going off. We didn't really know what to do so we gathered the important things and headed to the starts. Mind you, we're on the 28th floor. So we made the slow descent down, meeting more and more people as we got closer to the bottom. I timed it and it took us 10 minutes to get down to the lobby. All the while someone on the intercom, between the alarm sounds, was saying, "Please remain calm until further instructions." What is that even supposed to mean?! Do you stay or do you leave?? Anyway, we made it down and waiting outside with half of the other people that had walked down too. There were 4 fire trucks and one chief truck with all their lights going on. After half an hour we got the "all-clear" signal. Apparently on the 6th floor of the parking garage one of the components on the wall went out and set the fire alarm off.

Yay for little sleep!!

May 16
So after our very eventful night we tried to squeeze in a short walk around the brim of the falls before the thunderstorm came. And then the storm came. And it rained. And it was windy. And it was stormy. And cold. So we decided to watch the Imax movie on the falls and the exhibit on the daredevils that tried to go over the falls and through the rapids....and then it started to clear up by the time it was done. Then we went down to the whitewater walk in a really really old elevator and felt like we were going to die...ok, not really. 
Oh, and I can't forget Zappi's!! The really quaint little Italian place we had dinner at!!

 Mom and I took a lot of pictures together...hahahhaha.


May 17
 Drove back home...and what did we do after we got back? We went shopping. =.=
Not even kidding. Two things our family knows how to do well is eat and shop. No lie. Also, we lost my uncle at the mall right as it was closing. Mind you, he doesn't have a cell phone, doesn't know English extremely well, and doesn't know anyone's number or anything. It was an intense 20 mins as we were trying to find him. Lol. Thankfully he finally came to the car where I was waiting. =)

OK, now I'm SUPER DUPER behind on blogging!!! ARGH.







0 comments:

Post a Comment