I'm going to try and recap the last three days rapid fire.
Note to self: Don't underestimate the time it takes to get from point A to point B on this island. One mile might take more than 10-15 mins.
We met up with the rest of our relatives the next day...too many people in one spot!! Haha. I love them all though. =)
Went to eat at a pretty legit Chinese place and walked around Waikiki and Diamond Head. So touristy!! I dislike all the people. Sat around talking to each other in the room and then Daddy and I took a walk on the other side of the "beach". Then we went to pick up Jeremy at the airport. In true "Jeremy fashion" his phone died in a crucial time and we couldn't get a hold of him. Figures. So I had to run in and find him. =.=
Went to a Japanese restaurant and had nabe! Or what we Chinese ppl call hot pot or steamboat. I love salmon!
 |
| All the cousins that were able to make it for Bee's wedding plus her daddy! |
 |
| "Hey dad, you should get the TOPS of the trees too!" |
 |
| The bride herself!! We've had some amazing times together. =) |
Note to self: Leading a group of 14-19 family members is like herding cats. I kid you not.
Woke up early to catch the bus to go to the Polynesian Cultural Center. The bus tour guide made me sit in the front with him since our group of 19 was so big he needed one spokesperson. Or so he claimed. I didn't do squat until after we got off the bus. Although I will admit that he was pretty funny and informative. Gotta love those Samoans. Hahaha. Anyway. We took a guided tour through the center...it's so big and overwhelming!! But all the shows and demonstrations were hilarious and awesome! Esp the traditional dances. I wish I could at least pretend to dance...le sigh. We went to the luau and then the night show which was even more awesome!! The dancers weren't professionals, just students from the nearby university that they're partners with, and they did an amazing job. Jeremy goes, "It's like one big Asian Night all day!!" Haha. Yeah, we were there from morning until nighttime. Love love love that place!!
Note to self: Marry an islander. They're tall, dark, and handsome.
 |
| All the old folk learned the hula while I stood by laughing my head off and taking pictures. |
 |
| I did manage to learn some New Zealand stick thing.... |
 |
| Midday dance showcase on the boats |
 |
| I (re)learned how to make a fish!! |
 |
| The wind about to blow me away at the Pali |
Today we got a late start b/c no one knew what anyone was doing. SMH.
I love my dysfunctional family.
Most of the time. Haha. After meeting
Kalani, YuBee's husband, and seeing Jesslyn again (yay!), we finally all
headed out to Pali Hwy. Stopped at the Pali lookout and took a bunch of
pictures looking windswept. No, seriously, if you've never been there,
it's SUPER windy all the time.
Then we drove through Kailua...not much
there except for traffic...and then stopped at the Waimanola beach.
Beautiful beaches there!! Blue ocean and nice soft sand.
 |
| Hang loose yo! |
 |
| Part of the fam bam |
After
taking a few pictures we went on to Makapu'u Point and took a bunch of
pictures on the rocks. It was even more beautiful there!!
 |
| Jeremy taking photobombing to a whole other level. Hahaha. |
 |
| The fam on top of Makapu'u Point |
Then everyone was hungry so we stopped in Hawaii Kai/Koko Marina
and had lunch at this local restaurant called Loco Moco..which is
actually an indigenous dish here...or so I'm told. (Chad? Help?) I had Farukaki
Mahi. YUM. And then we stoppet at Bubbie's to get ice cream...well
actually lemongrass sorbet, which was amazing!! So good!!
Then we headed off to Hanauma Bay, which was our original
destination of the day. Haha. I def remember this place from the first
time I was there 14 years ago!! Although you now have to pay a ton of
money to get in. Ok, it wasn't a ton, but it's a lot more than free.
Lol. And since they're trying to preserve the area, which I don't blame
them for, they made us all watch a video about how you can't touch the
coral and fish,etc etc. Except that we went snorkeling there and the
coral is basically dead and there aren't a ton of fish there...ok, there
was, but not an abundance of them like I'm used to seeing in Malaysia.
Haha. I'm so spoiled. It was super cold b/c of the wind factor so we
didn't stay in too long. Also, snorkeling today just confirmed the fact
that I've never really liked snorkeling and that
I'm a scuba diving snob. Yes. I just admitted that.
 |
| Perched at the top of Hanauma Bay |
 |
| Cousins!! |
And a whole section devoted to my favorite flower: Plumeria.