I apologize once again for the lateness of all these posts. Not
that you were waiting or anything. Hah. Also, thanks to the amazing Niki
for designing my watermark!! You'll see it on the photos towards the
end.
The next day we were off to Mabul. Letter served as the DM
again, Baby came along, and the diving couple from the day before was
with us as well. Our first dive was at
the house reef.
Ok, let me pause and tell you how much I dislike the house
reef. Yes, I know they bring people there b/c it’s something different to look
at besides the real reef (it’s basically an artificial reef of sorts) but I
really don’t find it interesting. Sorry. The only things worth looking at there
are the giant groupers, the giant (lone) barracuda, and maybe the school of jackfish. That’s about it. Give me some real
reef for crying out loud! I am such a snob.
Anyway. This was my third time there this trip (once is ok,
but three times? c’mon) and I was getting bored. It didn’t help that Letter
totally bypassed most of the structures and we didn’t see much. Sigh. Strike one of the day for Letter. We
anchored our boat in between Scuba Junkie (and everyone goes EWWWW!!) and
Borneo Divers (yayyyyy). Whilst I was trying to get warm by sitting on top of
the boat I saw Maadil and we had a smashing conversation…ok, well it was more
like yelling since he was a ways away. Maadil is such a bawse. Have I said that
yet? Anyway, during our surface interval one of the guests wanted to go on land b/c
she was getting seasick. So we let them off at SWV and docked there. Then
we proceeded to collectively decide to forfeit our second dive since the guests
wanted to and the rest of us were tired. Haha. So I promptly took a nap b/c I
thought everyone else was going to, but no. Apparently Letter decided to tell
everyone his exciting stories as a gangster. Like legit gangster. But, more on
that later. After lunch and chilling out on the boat we decided to do our next
dive at Paradise 2. Here’s where the fun began. (Please note: Sarcasm) So we go down
and we reach the sandy bottom (b/c you dive deeper in the beginning and then
shallower in the end where the reef usually is…etc. etc.) And we’re swimming
along the sandy bottom for the LONGEST time. I motioned to Letter that we
needed to go towards the left to reach the reef, but he wouldn’t listen to me. Strike two. And THEN one of our guests
had been swimming with his feet higher than his torso (which usually means they
have too much air in their BCD or their not properly weighed or their buoyancy
is just that terrible…haha) so Letter told him to take some air out of his BCD,
which requires one to be vertical in the water. Well, Letter went on his merry
way to go search for the reef (in the wrong direction still) so that left ME to
make sure the guy was ok except I didn’t realize Letter had left us. Yeah…the
guy totally almost blew through his safety stop and I looked around for Letter,
who was nowhere to be found. Strike
three. So guess who had to go rescue the poor guy? Oooo!! Pick me!! I
always really hate having to pull people down from floating away. But, you
gotta do whatcha gotta do. So, I went up, pulled him down, and gave him one of
my weights (I usually wear 2 kg of
weights just in case someone needs one b/c I can dive fine with just 1 kg). And
then both of us were lopsided…haha. This is where I told Letter once again that
the reef was on our left side and we needed to stop going straight. But did he
listen to me? Nope. He’s SO hardheaded!!! ARGHHH. He claimed that he thought it
went deeper to the left, which it did NOT. By this time it was already 30 mins
into our dive. We decided to surface since there was absolutely NOTHING down
there. When we came up, where was the reef? Oh, on the left side.
BADUMPCHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Who has dived more times in Paradise 2? ME. Thank
you very much. I rest my case. ANYWAYS, after scolding Letter for a good while
we decided to rest for a bit and do a short shallow third dive. Lol. Letter is
never going to live this down. =) Since I love Paradise 2, it was very
enjoyable and thankfully nothing terribly exciting happened, or else I don’t
think I could’ve handled it. Haha.
 |
| Our fearless boatman, Basir, and our boatman assistant, Black. |
 |
| Pulau Mabul. <3 |
 |
| If you look really closely you can see Maadil on the boat...haha. |
 |
| Seaventure dive company. The converted oil rig. There's some awesome muck diving down there. |
 |
| He thinks he's sexy. |
 |
| So we gave these Bajau boys food...and then they sang to us...and wouldn't leave. haha. |
 |
| Letter thinks he looks cool with my sunglasses. |
 |
| Vis was bad, but that didn't stop this turtle from tryin' to get the ladies. |
 |
| Hey, dude! |
 |
| I saw this and instantly thought of Arody and Sophie...and a certain sea snake we saw in Tonga...haha. |
Sunday arrived and we had decided earlier that it would be
our “go-into-town-and-get-everything-we-needed” day otherwise known as
“Keri-becomes-girly-for-a-day." So go into town we did. And by town, I mean the
one that’s an hour away that’s a lot bigger than Semporna. We went to go get
dim sum and I finally got to eat some of my favorite dishes. Fried yam cake and
fried radish cake with eggs. Mmmmmm. Haven’t had that in a while. We all (and
by all, I mean the girls) wanted to get our nails done (b/c it’s super cheap
and they do a really good job) but the workers hadn’t gotten there yet. So what
did we do? We went shopping for clothes. (But of course.) I had a lot of fun
trying everything on. =) Then we went to one of those shops that have all those
cutesy Asian-looking stuffed animals. What did I instantly gravitate towards?
Stitch. B/c I LOVEEEEEE Lilo and Stitch!! Eeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!! So adorable!!! Somehow
this summer I influenced Baby to like Stitch too. HAH. So we both bought a
Stitch…hers was huge and mine was a small pillow-ish looking one. Then Baby
left to go meet up with her friends and Auntie Beth and I went to get our nails
done. They have so many workers (b/c there’s so many people that go to this
particular place) that you can get a mani and pedi at the same time AND you can
get a design on your nails for super cheap too. *Pretends to be super girly* Some
of the workers were deaf and had to sign to us to see what we wanted done. It
was so cool! They’re all super good and really precise. If mani’s and pedi’s
were that good and cheap, I’d get them done a lot more often than like…once a
year. Haha. After that I went to go get my hur DID. (Said in a ghetto accent…just
for Raygene) And by that, I meant I went to get my hair trimmed, thinned/layered,
and then washed. OHMYWORD. When you get your hair washed anywhere there they
give you a head massage for like half an hour. It’s OH-mazing!!! I need a
moment. Sigh. Ok. I’m done. After that we went to eat a late lunch then went
and picked Baby up. And thus concluded my day of being girly. I have now
reached my monthly quota of being girly. That night was Lee Chong Wei vs Lin
Dan in the badminton gold medal match. I’m pretty sure ALL of Malaysia was
breathlessly watching the match to see if Lee Chong Wei would win the
gold/revenge against Lin Dan (who he lost the gold to in Beijing)/get the RM4.5
million promised to any Malaysian that won gold in the Olympics. We stopped by
BGS to see if anyone wanted to go yum cha with Raymond (Baby’s cousin on her
mom’s side but we’re all kinda like cousins anyway) and his wife, Baby, and me.
We found the whole reception area full of people including Letter who was
staring very intently at the TV. We left them to their viewing pleasure and
then Raymond decided that he wanted to go to the Floating.
Pause. Ok, the
Floating is actually the Dragon Inn Hotel which is the only “hotel” that is
over the water (hence the “floating”) in Semporna (basically little water
bungalows or chalets). We grew up going there to randomly eat dinner and we
used to love looking at the big fish they had in the nets looking all forlorn
b/c we were going to eat them. Hahaha. But, after a while, the raised their
food prices to an absurd amount (which is only really expensive outside of
Malaysia especially Semporna) so we stopped going. Sad times. But it’s still
pretty iconic here in Semporna and all tourists take tons of pictures of it.
Haha. Ok, unpause.
So since Raymond’s wife is from KK and this was her first
visit to Semporna we were trying to show her around (during night albeit). Thus
yum cha at the Floating. Anyway, as we were expecting it was “expensive”,
complaining that a cup of Milo cost RM4, which is still cheaper than in the US.
LOL. In the meantime Lee Chong Wei
unfortunately lost in the third match and everyone was super disappointed but
still supported him to the utmost. GO MALAYSIA!! WOOT!! After we finished we
drove around town just for the fun of it, showing her the other grand sights in
Semporna (please
note sarcasm). We made Raymond pass by Kampung Bangau-Bangau aka Kampung
Famous. Read: The druggie village. And then we were being stupid on the way
back telling her every single little detail down to who lived where…lol. Poor
girl. She doesn’t know what she’s gotten herself into – our crazy family.
 |
| My ugly feet and pudgy toes....and beautifully done nails. Haha. |
So on Monday, the fam bam and close staff once again
embarked on an outing. This time it was with Aku Apo, Auntie Beth, Kian, Baby,
Raymond, his wife, Jefrey, Roslee (the new DM), Letter, Black, and our boatman,
Mahadir (or however you spell his name). We zoomed towards Pulau Adal, one of
our beloved places to go to, for the first dive. Since we had so many people
diving we ended up splitting in two groups half way through the dive. I love
the coral there! Back on the surface we decided we wanted to go to shore…but
alas, it was too shallow and we ended up getting stuck on some of the reef (I
know, I know!! We’re horrible people). All the guys ended up having to get out to
push the boat off the reef. Lol. Since going to shore wasn't an option we ended up anchoring our boat
to a Bajau boat that we had just bought fish from. The owners of the boat then
went onto a different fishing boat or something. Earlier, on our way to the
island, we had stopped by another fishing boat to buy some small fish which was
then cut up and mixed with green mangoes, chili, kitcai (aka small limes or
calamansi), and dark soy sauce. Yes. Raw fish. It was really good (and probably
super unhealthy…but hey…I’m still alive!). =) After lounging around for a while
we did our second dive at a different dive spot but nearby. The kids went with
Roslee for a fun dive while the rest of them went on…an expedition of
sorts…lolol. Our dive was quite exciting and we’ll just say that Roslee
received approval by the end of the dive from all of us. Haha. We’ll just leave
it at that. ;) When we all finally surfaced Auntie Beth, Jefrey, and Letter
decided to go back down to um…see something else…hahaha. After they finally
surfaced we made our way to a different pulau to go to shore, this time to
Timbun Mata. I love this place as well, great coral, not so much wildlife.
Also, I have a dive site there that’s named after me. =D Baby and I decided to
walk part of the island and snapped pictures while they were getting lunch
ready. We ate till our hearts content
(with our HANDS, Bajau style!) and then headed back and called it a day. That
night we had steamboat!!!! I love steamboat!!! Such a great family meal time. Basically
it’s a special pot with an open flame fueled by propane, you put water so it’s
boiling, and then you put different veggies and other things in it, my favorite
being tofu and fishballs/fishcakes. =) SO. GOOD.
 |
| She was happy. Hahah. Goes to show how much we love boat rides. =) |
 |
| A sight that warms my heart. Tanks all geared up! |
 |
| I'm still not really sure why we all had life jackets on....LOL. |
 |
| We def bought fish from that boat...... |
 |
| LOLOLOL. Hi Letter!! |
 |
| Our one and only, Jefrey!! |
 |
| I can't tell if Raymond is asleep or not... |
 |
| Timbun Mata. Aka: Love Bay. See that hill on the left that's lighter green? It's a wonderful spot. |
 |
| Our DMs....gotta love 'em! |
 |
| Jefrey....SMH. |
 |
| Sleeping on the job...tsk tsk. Hahaha. |
 |
| SHAKA!!!!!! |
 |
| Bajaus fishing at Pulau Adel. |
 |
| We were buying fish from them... |
 |
| Once again...a favorite sight. |
 |
| This is when we got stuck on the reef... |
 |
| Our strong men getting us out...well, can't say so much for Kian...Haha. |
 |
| He's getting old...ahaha. Snoozing on the Bajau boat we anchored to. |
 |
| He's so adorbs. |
 |
| Mother and daughter moment...over food nonetheless. Haha. |
 |
| More of Pulau Adel with other pulaus in the background. |
 |
| Don't let her sweet smile fool you...she's a brat...but a very loveable on. Haha. |
 |
| Our fearless boatman taking a break. |
 |
| Preeeetty sure that's Jef in the corner...haha. Or Rosalee...One of the two. |
|
 |
| Cousins! |
 |
| Our DMs...and boat....and low tide. |
 |
| These nudibranches are so cute! |
 |
| Nudibranch |
 |
| Tiny nudibranch!! |
 |
| Me and my multicolored tan. |
 |
| Props go to Baby for taking the picture! |
 |
| Awww, she's so cute. |
 |
| Sitaring. |
 |
| And so we took more pictures... |
 |
| And even more pictures.....bahahha. |
 |
| And Jef thinks everything is A-OK. |
 |
| My uncle, the BIG BOSS. He pretty much runs everything. |
 |
| Sitaring. |
 |
| So cute kan? =) Raymond and his wife! |
 |
| Yes, I shall return!! |
 |
| The awesome house I got to stay in! |
 |
| I love steamboat/hotpot!!! |
0 comments:
Post a Comment